Badger Blogging Blitz: Day 5

{Other Badger Bloggers: Emily GaynorKeith KempDavid KlugMatthew MarxZach McLeod/Liz WansleySoren Nieminen}

Daily Questions: From Our Readers! 

“If you had to teach in another country, where would you like to go?” – Mike R., New Zealand

I think I would stay in Asia because, as my mother says, I’m a “completionist.” I’d really like to continue traveling throughout Asia, since there’s an unlimited amount of unbelievable things to see, do, eat, hear, touch, and find. I’ve considered going to teach in Japan, Taiwan, or Thailand–I have heard really good things about teaching English in all of those places, for anyone interested. But, alas, I  have not exactly fallen in love with teaching ESL. It is definitely the best way to see the world while making money, which is the original reason I came to Korea and has certainly proved itself to be true. It’s just not my thang. But I’m really excited to return home and embark upon a more rooted, English-speaking existence. Hopefully that will entail getting a job where I can write. 

“What was the weirdest thing you ate that you ended up liking/hating?” – Sheila B., Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

A popular street food here is sundae (순대), coagulated cow’s blood, wrapped in a paper-textured, more hardened blood. Enticing, huh? I tried it. I think I may have liked it if I hadn’t known what it was before eating it. You bite down, the paper is a little salty and crunchy, and the inside is saltier, mushy, and slimy. We dipped it in some salt/pepper mixture provided by the food stand ajumma. My friend Jason ate an entire bag of them, and I could barely finish one bite. Before I came to Korea, I considered myself to be a very adventurous eater; I really am willing to try anything. But the appeal of some foods served in Korea I will never fully understand…such as sundae. Korean people are so proud of their food, more so than in other countries I’ve visited. Before we arrived, at our Wisconsin orientation in Chicago, we were told that “food diplomacy” is a good thing to keep in mind–it will totally delight your hosts if you enjoy their food. People are constantly asking me if I can eat kimchi (because many people think it is too spicy for foreigners, which is not true; most foreigners just don’t like it), or if I’ve ever used chopsticks before, which I’ve been doing since I was probably 7 years old. I had never eaten Korean food before coming here, though, except for one outing prior to my departure, and now I really do like most of it! I’m going to write a post soon detailing my favorite Korean dishes.

Sundae, 순대, Coagulated Cow's Blood. Don't try this at home, kids.

I will just never understand whose idea it was to let some cows blood sit around, harden and then serve it on the street, just like hotdogs and pretzels in New York City.
“What was your most memorable lost-in-translation moment?”        – Aimee H., Madison, Wisconsin, USA 

I can’t really think of one specific moment. It happens all the time and I always forget to write down the memorable moments. But every time I have to explain to a Korean that I’m Jewish, there’s definitely something that is lost along the way. Usually people smile and nod, but when people do that I now know it means they don’t fully understand what I’m talking about.

The Badger Blogging Blitz crew would like to answer some questions from you, our dear readers. Please, ask away! We’d love as much feedback as possible :) Consider it your way of thanking us for such riveting reading material for the past 8 months.

Some Instagram photos from last week:

Silluek Temple - Buddha's Birthday Decorations

Hello there!

Pounding rice to make rice cakes.

Speaking of delicious Korean food: Kalguksoo.

Springtime view from my apartment window.

Leave a Reply

